Information for Current Students

All of the 8 Honors College logos

Living Learning Programs



Winston Family Honors Writing Awards

The Winston Awards recognize the best essay, research paper, and thesis written by honors students.
Click for 2019 Winston Awards information.

Honors Citation Ceremony

The 2018 Winston Family Honors Writing Award winners and their faculty mentors were honored
at a luncheon in the Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center at the University of Maryland on April 27, 2018.

Winston Family Honors Writing Awards 2018 Winners

Short Essay Award:

Jisue Gonzales
"Environmental Racism: Industrial Dumping in Low-Income Communities"
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ross J. Salawitch, Chemistry, Biochemistry, and Atmospheric & Oceanic Science

Sasha H. Kahn
"Love the Bomb"
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Nelson Pressley, University Honors

Samantha Stuart
"The Water Man"
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Sara Schotland, University Honors

Daniel Zheng
"Butler Library in New York: The New Tower of Babel"
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Ingrid Satelmajer, University Honors

Research Paper Award:

Madison Kunkel
"The Internet of Things: The Progression of Interconnectivity that Shifts Power Away from the Masses"
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Sarah Oates, Phillip Merrill College of Journalism

Brendan Sheehy
"Computer-Assisted Learning in the Developing World: Technical Considerations for Early Education"
Faculty Mentor: Ms. Taryn Devereux, Agricultural and Resource Economics

Honors Thesis Award:

Daniel Callow
"Effects of Acute Exercise Intensity on Neural Efficiency Using Semantic Memory Task Activation in Younger
Adults: An fMRI Study"
Kinesiology Departmental Honors Thesis
Faculty Mentor: Dr. J. Carson Smith, Kinesiology

Mallory Haselberger
"Transcending the Ordinary: Artistic Transmission and Artemisia Gentileschi’s 'Penitent Magdalen'"
Art History and Archaeology Departmental Honors Thesis
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Anthony Colantuono, Art History

Caroline Johnson
"The Rise of the Iron Ladies: Female Leadership in Democracies (1960-2015)"
Government and Politics Departmental Honors Thesis
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Kathleen Gallagher Cunningham, Government and Politics